Success #MWWC15

My first post-college year has unsurprisingly been one of subdued success. The most notable, that I haven’t crashed my dad’s empty nest party and that my job lets me occasionally schmooze with the wine distributors. Also, I started this blog. Before continuing, I should introduce myself. My name is Ryly and this is my first time participating in #MWWC15. This January, when I first launched my WordPress I was lucky enough to stumble across the participants of this challenge which provided a wonderful opportunity to see how other people were writing and talking about wine. wine-stain1-3 Since I’m young, like young enough that I shouldn’t be able to talk, write, or act like I know anything whatsoever about wine, booze or the world, I decided to focus on what makes a succesful bottle of wine to me. From the eyes of the lowliest little wine peasant here is a little about success, which should literally be internalize as scarcely as possible. So, what makes a succesful bottle of wine? Is it sales or critical acclaim? Fortunately, I don’t think many people outside of the Californian super-vineyards/investment banking circles would argue that a wine’s value is determined by sales. Otherwise the most succesful wines among my peer group would be boxes of Franzia and 1.5 litre Cook’s Champagne. Talk about postapocalyptic… Franzia-e1355169646251 But what about critical acclaim? It seems like the great Sommeliers of the world must know something. Unfortunately, there are an unimaginably astounding number of great wines out there. A simple google search of ‘best wines 2014’ will bring up about 113,000,000 results. Not to say that most of those hits will be on to anything. Many of the better results are from weekend warriors pontificating in their free time on blogs like these or lists such as http://2014.top100.winespectator.com Clearly, there are all sorts of great wines and every year there are new competitions with new winners and probably the vast majority of these bottles, if on my table, would elicit the words “Dope” “Amazing” “Spectacular” . Just because a wine is great, even if it’s only good, doesn’t mean it’s succesful. As previously mentioned, I’m the same age as most wine lovers wayward and unmarketable children. I too also want to save the world and the reason I’m not currently beer bonging a half-gallon of Rosé is because I’ve been lucky. I doesn’t hurt that I’m also a square and spent years not getting invited to bro parties and instead wrote bad poetry and drank worse cheap reds. It was a wine tasting that saved me and I was only there because I worked for the sponsor and I never turn down a free drink. The first two tables were full of the same old poncy big words and pretentious french pronunciations, but the third and last table was something different. A local vineyard was pouring and when I say local, I mean local. Southern Oregon is a small place and I hadn’t realized the couple, who were regular customers, were also wine makers. While I approached the table, I prayed that they had never overheard me giving shoddy recommendations or mispronouncing words like Garnacha. As I swirled, aerated and looked contemplatively at the corner of the room I knew I was an imposter, but if they could see through my act, they didn’t let on. With my nose shoved in the glass, they described the flavours and holy shit, for the first time I wasn’t hearing gibberish. Even though I wasn’t spitting and a little bit buzzed, they were gracious enough to let me do a second tasting. I think it’s partially because I get spazzy when excited, and how could I not!? I could actually taste their notes and they were absolutely exquisite. As they talked about their land and the growing season, to be a cheezy-hippy about it, I could taste the richness and love they put into their vines. I couldn’t fathom spending almost thirty dollars on one bottle, but god did I want to. It was the 2012 Biodynamic Tempranillo from Upper Five Vineyards. It was because of that exact tasting that I started to look at wine as something other that a fashion statement. It was also why I started pestering my co-workers with uneducated and cloying questions (some of which have caused my near strangulation…) While sales, critical acclaim and skill all play a part in a wine’s success, for me, there will never be a more succesful bottle of wine than that Tempranillo. It was a one of a kind moment where region, taste and opportunity blended to create an eye-opening experience. Wine, for the first time, actually gave me a physical reaction other than buzzed/drunk and it was a wonderful thing. Check out the creator and host of this great challenge at http://thedrunkencyclist.com/2015/02/10/monthly-wine-writing-challenge-15-mwwc15/ Picture lifted from http://dailycaller.com/2012/12/11/10-life-changing-geniuses-more-deserving-of-the-nobel-prize-than-europe-slideshow/franzia/

3 thoughts on “Success #MWWC15

  1. Nice form sonny! I think you have an illustrious future in wine blogging, I hope you have a trust fund. Good use of links, crediting your sources and showing post apocalyptic imagery….which coincidentally illustrates why I didn’t get past freshman year at the UofO. I quacked. Best of luck, thanks for going all in to the MWWC. xo

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: #MWWC15 Time to vote! | the drunken cyclist

Leave a Reply

